Thread: Flask building parts

Flask building parts

I am still brand new at this but I do alot of 3D printing so I designed a kit of corners and ridge guides to build flasks easily. I wonder if any of you would mind looking at the models posted at www.thingiverse.com/thing:52973 and let me know if these will not work properly? Cope corners have pegs which seat in the drag corners so seems fine to me but I really don't know anything. Thanks.

Blog Entries
    the locating pin will get in the way when ramming the sand , it will have to sit flat on the bench too work ( removable pin )

Topend has a point, but that could easily be worked around by drilling matching holes for the pins in one's backer board.

Captn......would you be willing to send one set of those (gratis) to someone to give a test try? (Not me)

Roger

set pins

The set pins are in the cope. That is the picture you see at thingiverse.com. The drag has a matching hole. There 2 files in the downolad, cope and drag. I'll sit down today and figure print times etc for these. My thoughts was to print a set and cast them. Would it be a hard pour? The arms are about 2"wide, so 2" deep in the mold, and the narrowest part is .25". Since I cannot figure out how I would core the holes, would it be better to split the corners or otherwise change the model to make casting easier?

Blog Entries
    the set pins will still be in the way , if you put your pattern on the bench , put the cope flask ( pin side down ) then ram sand in it/// 4 holes in a board that the pins sit in will work
    add a good draft angle to the sides so they release easy from the sand

drill the holes later
    Is back on line

At this point I think I'll look at printing the mold to pour lost wax and putting holes on the cope and drag (just use the same mold) then have removable pins. I did the run up and these will take around 18 hours per set to print or print a mold and cast the wax parts... Good input, thanks.