Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 81

Thread: What are you making on your CNC

  1. #21
    Senior Member TopEndScraper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Darwin ,Northern Territory, Australia
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    1
    ill pinch one or two , rod's a good bloke



    i would also keep the end of the cutting deck short , and have a vertical clamping surface , for end grain milling of long lengths , move it to the eadge of the balcony to cut the ends of 3m lengths

    ??/100mm short , and fit a drip tray for coolant collecting there when cutting aluminum / brass
    Last edited by TopEndScraper; 02-12-2013 at 07:58 AM.

  2. #22
    Senior Member nudge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NorthShore,Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    5,067
    That looks like a heavy Y axis has it got slide rails?

    I better get back to working out how all the bits will fit into the pump! I have some of the sizes (I think I have them right)
    If the spelins rong blam the wife!

    How to build a Nudge burner (oil)

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    North Central Illinois
    Posts
    93
    Quote Originally Posted by TopEndScraper View Post
    its just a CHINA EBAY CHEEPie (AU$2000)
    How do you like it TES? I'm tempted to buy one...

  4. #24
    Senior Member TopEndScraper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Darwin ,Northern Territory, Australia
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    1
    the machine is fine , a bit flimsy but for the price you would not beable to purchase the , T slot deck , 20mm supported/unsupported rails with linier rollers , 16mm ball screws with anti back slash nuts , the 1.5kw spindle , steppers , the shaft flexible couplings , , the parts they use are good

    there not , ACME thread , bearings running on mild steal ( unmachined flat bar ) engraver , selling for the same price locally

    the china ebay CNC's suffer in the CONTROL BOX , !!!!!THERE CRAP !!!!!! , no really they are crap , do your self a favor and ask for the machine with out the control box , ( make sure they dont take the steppers / spindle as well ) , you might get $300 off , then spend $500 on the good stuff , a proper VDF to match the spindle , and a set of "geko's " for your motor drives , and a 48 volt power supply , yes you will have to wire it up your self ( if you can )

    this kit is good http://www.homanndesigns.com/store/i...products_id=90 but dont bye from them , there made in USA , so bying from Australian site is just wrong , if your in USA
    VFD link http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HIGH-QUAL...8923e13&_uhb=1 this needs to match the spindle on the machine

    with mine im running Gecko 201X's and a 60 volt power supply http://www.homanndesigns.com/store/i...roducts_id=109 , you need one of these for each motor , and they dont come with the "break out board" like the kit above

    mine is a 6545 ( 650mm xaxis 450mm y axis ) and they cut aluminum at 0.5mm per pass , with a 1/2 decent finnish , so most use the machine to up grade it's self , dont forget , the CNC wont do anything without software , and good soft ware is very expensive , to of the line programs will cost $1500 +
    you will need a CAD program
    and a CAM program

    a set of collets to fit different bits , 0.5 too 7.5mm in o.5mm steps to fit your spindle
    bits , and lots of them , 2mm ballnose by the packs of 10 , lol , there easy to snap while you learn what feeds and speeds to use , some 4mm 6mm millend and ballnose so you can get some speed with out snapping the bit , v bits for lettering , i bought a heap of angles eadge ball nose bits , that have 3 or 5degree pitch on the sides of the bits ( expensive ) but so handy for molds

    i purchased an out of date TurboCAD16Pro with plug in CAM ( 2.5D) for $300
    i also use , Cut2D , and Cut3D , and PhotoCarve < they all add up

    a PC with on motherboard parallel port ( dualcore's are $100 now ) you need a dedicated PC with no back ground DLL's running , so a new minimal install ( XP ) , a
    a Mach3 licence

    so expect to pay another $2000 on top of the machine
    and then the machine still wont do any thing until you learn to use the software ,and draw something in CAD , the learning curve is vertical for 6 months
    ive had mine running for just over a year now and had never used CAD before
    Last edited by TopEndScraper; 02-12-2013 at 11:29 AM.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    North Central Illinois
    Posts
    93
    Thanks TES. This is one I'm thinking about. It is close enough I can drive and pick it up...

    http://www.kelinginc.net/CNCmachines3030.html

  6. #26
    I know CNC is Numeric control Programme. Do you tell me which Software you are using for Creating programme. I working on that CNC Project I need a software for that when i go to the Google find free most of tthe software have Paid Version. If you have any Crack version Send me or Tell me free Software site and their name.

  7. #27
    Senior Member TopEndScraper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Darwin ,Northern Territory, Australia
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    1
    CAM , software can be expencive i use
    CUT2D
    CUT3D
    PHOTO v carve all from victric
    and my TURBOCAD16pro came with a 2.5D CAM plugin thats good for 4th axis /mill work

    i dont know of any decent freeware programs
    Is back on line

  8. #28
    Saying the machine won't do anything without cad/cam software is a bit of a stretch. Granted, you are not going to hand program anything too fancy, but with a little math, yoy can cut general profiles for simple parts. I regularly write 50-75 line programs standing in front of my machine. G-code and basic trig knowledge (a good calculator helps a bunch) will be enough to make better machine parts.

  9. #29
    CNC Automation Submission programme is not Operating easily you need to first get commend then start. I have Bike the have some problems with starting i go the work shop they person open some part and set them recommended rules. when we talk about production is it in the Organization with fully command and expert Team.

  10. #30
    Senior Member TopEndScraper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Darwin ,Northern Territory, Australia
    Posts
    1,076
    Blog Entries
    1
    with the CAM programs ( what turns CAD drawings into machine code for the CNC ) there are 3 basic types

    2D , where the bit machines out shapes with the z axis stepping as it carves out the program , ie moves the z axis , then uses both x & y axis to mill a layer , then the z axis drops again and x and y axis do there program again

    2.5D , where it will do the same as above but will also CAM round stock or a milling machine with an " A " axis or 4th axis ( so 2D with a lathe turning the material )

    3D is where the material is roughed out useing 2D , and then a " finnish 3D run " machines out the material following a 3D line of a surface ,moving x , y , z axis at the same time to produce the shape , they normally cant run a 4th aixs ( lathe )

    Full version cams ( over $1000) , will run 3D on a 4th axis as well as all the rest

    then Robotic arm 6 axis CAM , where each motor moves in an arc not in a straight line

    there are 2D CAM as freeware on the net , i just dont have the links handy
    there is even a $25 CAM on ebay , that 3D mills a flat 3D drawing around a 4th axis , so draw a 3D flat surface with the right length for the circumference of the material , and it will produce it on round stock

    your CAM not behaving is probably operator error , the cam program has to know the basics o the machine setup , what bits you plan on using ,and what feed / rpm speeds work est with the machine , getting another CAM program wont help i you dont understand how to use it ,
    you probably have a top of the range CAM there , just read up on how to use it
    Last edited by TopEndScraper; 09-06-2013 at 07:19 AM.
    Is back on line

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •