Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What are you making on your CNC

What are you making on your CNC

As the title said.
    I know a few members have CNC, would be good to see what is getting made.
    I will start with a few of mine, quite basic but I am new to the CNC world.

Donk
    Needs must while the devil rides.

Blog Entries
    tonight i installed a new Gecko G201X for my 4th axis , and wired it up to my BOB , tomorrow night ill get the Mach3 settings in ,and get it running ,and change the plugs on the stepper from audio plugs china puts on them , to the molex 4 plug of old hard drives ( rated for 7amps)

at the moment , i strap a spanner on the yaxis ballscrew end and clamp it in position , and use the yaxis stepper driver as the 4th axis driver ( separate mach3 set up for mill )
    looks like your using a 3D CAM , you could probably do those with a 2D CAM ? brake the drawings into lines and use a 5deg sided ballnose , rather than 3D ,
    nice work , nearly forgot
    you must love the time it takes , i would have been a bit more wary before buying mine ,if i knew one of my violin molds would take 18hours to mill , lol , but since i got it i haven't looked back , the learning curve is massive and never ending , learning to draw in cad is the hardest ,lol 2 years ago i started drawing in CAD for the first time , my CNC is a CHINA EBAY $2000 6545 1.5kw spindle , but with all gecko stepper drivers with a optocoupled BOB and proper spindle VDF , chalk to cheese compared to the twitchy original "made in china " box that it came with it

last weekend i cut a escarpment for a clock out of an old sign as a test of the tooth angles , it worked , its just an old aluminium clad plastic sheet that was once a sign , one corner was mangled from a car crash , got it for free so cant complain about how loud it is ,

click on the video below