Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: CAD Program for Pattern Making

CAD Program for Pattern Making

In my youthful exuberance I've bought a 3D printer. I'm hoping to make patterns and core boxes with it. It should arrive within a few weeks so I started looking for CAD software. I have limited CAD experience, although I'm a degreed engineer I got my degree before CAD existed and have always had designers to do the CAD work.

I did a little research and found a decision tree which seemed to point to DesignSpark. It is free so I downloaded it. It will work, as I'm sure lots of programs would work, but one shortcoming I see no alphabet. I can create an alphabet for both raised and depressed letters but if there is a program already available with the letters created it would make things easier.

What are your thoughts on CAD software?

And slicing software?

I'm only doing sand casting in aluminum now but want to go to aluminum bronze, bronze, brass, and maybe cast iron and would like to try investment casting.

oldironfarmer, I was in a similar situation except I wasn't an engineer. About 50 years ago, I was a manual draftsman. Left that endeavor for a career in the USAF. After retiring from the AF, my second major career was in IT. Never got back to drafting, let alone CAD, even though I supported CAD/CAM labs in the local school system. Now totally retired, and enjoying a hobby machine shop, and 3d printer, I decided it was time to learn CAD. I tried all the free programs I could find. None made sense to me. Then I found Fusion 360. The light came on with the help of Youtube tutorials from Lars Christensen and Paul McWhorter.
    I also play at casting aluminum. Fusion has the ability to add draft for casting to designs, though I haven't mastered putting leters on my pattern designs.
    Fusion is free for students and hobbyists and startups that make less than $11k a year.
    I can now design pretty much anything I need, and print it.

Chuck

Blog Entries