Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Furnace for Aluminium melting - Burner suggestions

Furnace for Aluminium melting - Burner suggestions

Hello everyone,

I'm new to furnace building. I have gone through 100s of videos and web articles on building a furnace, yet lacking practical knowledge.

I'm planning to build / getting a furnace built by local person here. I'm looking for advice on burners which can be used for a furnace.

I need 2 oil fired furnaces to be built for melting aluminium scrap. The aluminium scrap will majorly be ISRI tense grade.

The first furnace will need to have a crucible capacity of ~200kgs of aluminium scrap. Targeting melting of 1 MT per day with 4-5 melts per day.

The second furnace will be of 50kgs capacity. This will be user to re-melt the aluminium dross and extract the remaining aluminium.

I came across waste oil burners in https://www.alibaba.com/product-deta...666947085.html .

I really don't know the real use of this burners as I have not seen these used for furnaces. Can these type of burners be used for furnace to melt aluminium scrap?

Please let me know your suggestions.

Also, these burners have a Output heat of 20,000- 80,000(KCal/h). I'm not sure on the units used. All I know is aluminium melts at 650 - 700 degrees celsius. Will this output heat be sufficient for an aluminium melting furnace.

Sorry if I lack the basics. I'm just getting started with this furnace and stuff.

You seek "YODA" hmm....

Have you estimated the fuel consumption?? Im thinking fuel costs to operate might over come any profits.. maybe masteryoda will chime in on this shortly...
    A calm sea does not make a skilled sailor...
    http://thehomefoundry.org

I'd like 2minutes with that thing and a camera. People usually buy those and burn waste oil to heat work shops on the cheap.

We around here generally build our own burners to suit the mission. Look up Kwicky and Brute oil burners. That'll get the ball rolling for ya.
    WWW.TheHomeFoundry.org