Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Another Gingery Metal Lathe

Another Gingery Metal Lathe

I was recently asked to post my D. Gingery metal lathe project. Now that my foundry is back up and running
    and It's beginning to feel like it will be a lathe, here goes. I had this project in mind and a very limited amount
    of available resources. Also a complete newb. First I needed to build a furnace and set up my foundry.

Last week I was able to get 2 more castings finished and should be able to start assembly soon.

In the beginning there was a saw, not really, just kidding. There was an idea for a table saw but it needed an arbor.
    In China where I live I cannot find anyone who can or will make an arbor and I cannot buy one, so the only thing left
    is to make one. So this is where it really began... and I feel like I might ramble on for hours without actually getting to
    the point.

The first couple of pours were disastrous, using home made green sand. Sorry that I didn't save any of those pictures.
    I started this last winter. So I will just post pictures as i find them. After finally breaking the bank to buy sand I got the mold
    holding together.

bedmould.jpg

I think the second pour turned out ok.

bedcast.jpg

I think I tend to get the aluminum too hot.

Hand scraping with poor quality chisels and not the proper "Prussian Blue" I used oil paint and it was very messy.

bedscraping.jpg

Finally after weeks ( cuz I'm amateur ) I have the bed scraped and the ways sits on it with no wobble.
    The only thing I could find for a reference was a piece of plate glass.

bedways.jpg

And so messy, took me a long time to get this paint off.

I ordered 304 stainless steel for the ways and clamps. Cold rolled steel is recommended but I could not get
    cold rolled in less than a full sheet. ( 1.22 meters by 2.44 ). I wouldn't be able to lift it. I was able to get this