Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi AlloyAvenue, I'm an Industrial Videographer, foundryman & 3rd Gen Pattern Maker

Hi AlloyAvenue, I'm an Industrial Videographer, foundryman & 3rd Gen Pattern Maker

Figured I'd introduce myself as I've lurked here for a long time but never posted due to not having anything to add till now. I've written a 20,000 word article over the very basics of foundry work and what I think would be important for anyone new to it to know. It's still under construction but I've put over 200 hours into it already in the last 3 weeks and I just want to get it out there for now. It's complete with common foundry terms and equipement, Ever casting method possible and I detail out the qualities of refractory sand vs molding sand and the science behind sand and what makes them useful for what scenarios. I also go into the history of every casting method complete with historical stories and the progression of patents and technologies that brought us to the foundry works we know today. It might be a be elementary for this forum but you might find the history parts entertaining and some of the sand science useful. Again it's still incomplete and if you find anything I've gotten wrong let me know and I'll revise it. It's designed more so as a glimpse into ever industrial method with DIY in mind, rather than a DIY tutorial for newbies. Currently all my experience is in industrial settings so I don't feel comfortable advising DIY much. you guys probably know way more than I do when it comes to that.

http://garenphillips.com/casting-pattern-basics/