Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: melting copper

melting copper

I have been casting for a few months now, and still having trouble melting copper. I have a long thread started in the casting section titled Delf Clay. I have worked out most of my problems, but still can't seem to melt a few ounces of copper reliably. It just seems to melt into a blob, and then stays that way. My last attempt I tried for about 1.5 hours but was ultimately a failure. So, I ask you, is the anatomy of my foundry the problem, or am I being too impatient? Or could it be something completely different? Sorry if this seems to be a repost of the same questions I asked in previous threads, I just want to get to the bottom of this. attached are pics of my foundry. You'll see it has an open face, which I suspect is the cause of my problems, but I'm no expert. Clicking the link will take you to my facebook group where I've been posting pics of my work. There is also a short video of my foundry in action.
    Thanks, JD

https://www.facebook.com/marc.malavo...8538477761755/

No can see. No bookface for me. Never had it, never will. Can ya stick it on youtube?
    Visit me: WWW.HandcraftedLanterns.com
    "Sometimes by losing a battle you find a new way to win the war"
    -- Donald Trump --

I don't have a youtube account, but will set one up asap. For now though, here is a still pic. marc's iphone 2016 342.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Are you firing that with the huge gaping hole in the front? Try tightening up your setup. Looks like you are not getting hot enough. You'll need to hit 2k degrees. Copper melts at 1984F.
    Usually requires some forced air to reach those temps on propane unless you can control the heat loss in your furnace.

Another option, got an oxy/acetylene torch? You can melt that in an open crucible outside with no furnace.
    Visit me: WWW.HandcraftedLanterns.com
    "Sometimes by losing a battle you find a new way to win the war"
    -- Donald Trump --