Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wheres the electricians??????

Wheres the electricians??????

Could use a hand gang. I installed years ago a sub box in the garage with (2) 220 circuits. One is a 30amp rig for the compressor and the other is a 50amp setup for large stuff like ovens and welders. Problem is, my new (old as the hills) kiln requires 220 WITH A STUPID NEUTRAL. I know goofy. 220 outlets are never wired with a neutral. My oven, welders and compressor are all happy to run without the neutral. I'm studying the wiring diagram for the kiln and it says neutral IS ESSENTIAL. (must need that 120vt for god knows what is my only guess) Question is, can I just string another wire from my neutral bus bar in the sub box and down to the 220 plug that needs it? Sounds easy enough right?

Thanks,
    Jason
    Visit me: WWW.HandcraftedLanterns.com
    "Sometimes by losing a battle you find a new way to win the war"
    -- Donald Trump --

Gee, I've never wired anything 220v without the neutral. (Usually 4 conductor red, black, white and bare) Yes, you should be able to string a separate wire, but it should have the correct insulation/sheath to be a stand alone wire. This is probably against code, but rules are made to be broken. lol Are you in conduit, or romax inside a wall?
    What is that squeaking noise?

That's all you'd need to do. Make sure to use the proper outlet if you use one, it'll require one with 4 holes rated at the specified amperage. The ground is a safety device to help prevent electrocution and would serve the purpose if you used it as a neutral. This would be a foul though as the ground is only meant to be a conductor in a fault situation and that's it. The neutral on the other hand is meant to carry that current. Odds are that the ground and neutral are bonded in your panel.