Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pete's new furnace

Pete's new furnace

I've been talking about building a new furnace since last year. I finally got moving on it. I've had the half keg for a couple of years and got the stinking SOB cut open a few weeks ago. I reviewed a few other builds, read Colin Peck's book again, and the had at it. The first thing after cutting it open and removing the lid' dome was to make the lifting mechanism.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7ZCE42RknN0

Of course I can't do anything simple. I did get to use my lathe and mill on this part of the job, so that was cool. I learned a lot while doing it.

The keg makes a great shell. I've never done anything with stainless before. It's "interesting" to drill through. I also had to do a bit of Mig welding on it as well for the burner holder. I made the burner holder by bending some 18 ga steel around a 2-1/2" shaft (aluminum copier fuser roller). I clamped it good and heated it with one of those propane weed burners up to red hot to get the spring out of it. It worked great.

I originally planned on 2 1/2" solid Kastolite30 but the brickie who gives me the stuff couldn't get it anytime soon, so I got mizzou. I also didn't want a solid mizzou furnace so I decided to do 1-1/2" of sand/fireclay as a backer with a 1" mizzou hotface. The lid is 2" mizzou and will have an inch of ceramic fiber.
    image.jpg

image.jpg

After finishing the lid lifter I mixed and poured the lid and leveled the floor with mizzou. As part of the form for the lid I cut a piece of 1/2" plywood with a vinyl mask on it so the refractory wouldn't stick. I burned it out later.

image.jpg

image.jpg

I made two sets of forms for refractory. One at 12" diameter and one at 10". I used the bandsaw to cut disks for each. I used 30ga HVAC duct for the forms. I used two 6" ducts to make a 12" form.