Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Gearing up for sand casting

Gearing up for sand casting

Following up from a post I made in the 'what I did today' thread, cause I guess a couple of you thought there might be something here worth being able to find again after a couple weeks have gone by: http://www.alloyavenue.com/vb/showth...l=1#post188429

I haven't done anything here that I didn't learn to do from you guys here on the forum or from one or two casting books most of you have probably read too, but I figure maybe someone will point out a few mistakes I may be preparing to make and warn me ahead of time; who knows, could be a big help to me, and perhaps others getting started with sand casting as well.

I've been playing around with lost foam for a couple of years now, lots of Hallowe'en skulls and stuff like that, plus a couple of anthill castings and a few little things where I carved the styrofoam myself rather than buying it at Michael's or the dollar store. But I've always wanted to try sand casting and other techniques too. I just love melting stuff for some reason, and in the process of building what I need in order to do that, I've learned that I love making stuff and learning how to make and fix stuff too. I was never a real handyman type guy, but I'm working on it... So life is good.