Page 1 of 38 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Tobho's new furnace build!!!

Tobho's new furnace build!!!

Been working on a new furnace. I figure my 8" bore Gingery-style charcoal furnace works great, but I've been using it for lost foam aluminum casting for coming up on 2 years and so it's about time I built something a little bigger. With proper refractory and insulation and a tangential tuyere, to give me a bit more versatility and allow me to play around with a burner...

I got a couple of 30 gallon steel drums which are about 18" diameter, so I have my outer shell.

I got 3 50-lb bags of Unicast 70 dense castable refractory rated at 3200F, so I have my refractory.

My 2600F rated ceramic blanket and insulating firebrick will have arrived at the pottery supply shop today, so I will soon have my insulation.

I decided to follow the example others have set and start by building a cart for the furnace to sit on and get rolled around on. I used 1" square tubing for the frame and an unfolded sheet metal oven drawer that I hung onto when my yard-oven finally went off to the dump with its friend the yard-fridge to build the platform. Since I don't have the equipment or the know how to fabricate it by welding, I had to use a combination of nuts and bolts and pop rivets and brackets. It doesn't have wheels or a handle yet, and the bit of extra metal protruding off one side needs to get trimmed off, but I'll get to that soon enough. Here's the cart so far, I think it will work out well; I built it longer than the furnace will need so that I have some extra room on it so I can wheel some of my other gear out into the back yard with it..

image.jpg image.jpg