PDA

View Full Version : Duplicating a pot metal part

ac4aq
12-11-2005, 03:55 AM
Hello!

I've a question about the practicality of duplicating a pot-metal auto part in brass or bronze. I've had no experience with metal casting but lots with soldering (I repair projection television sets).

As a hobby I'm restoring a 1985 Porsche 928 and the rear hatch lock body, which is pot metal, is cracked. I understand there is no really satisfactory way to repair pot metal but a replacement for the lock is $455. Yikes!

One of my customers suggested to me that it would be possible to reproduce the original in brass with accurate dimensions, as the original is a casting and doesn't appear to have been bored or milled or otherwise machined.

I realize that there's likely no advantage in price to produce just one but I belong to a 928 owner's group and failure of this part is characteristic, so perhaps it would be practical to cast 5 or 10. It seems to me that the mold is the key, perhaps the original can be used to make an impression in some material to create a mold.

I welcome any comments, especially if this is a fool's errand.

Thanks,

Jeff

Tim
12-11-2005, 06:01 AM
If it can stand being shrunk about 10% (it really only shrinks 3% tops but you'll probably file or sand off a bit, too), go for it. 8)

Alternately, you can add some thickness to the pattern (paint, bondo, etc.) to enlarge it to compensate.

Tim

Bob S
12-11-2005, 04:23 PM
The nice thing about die casting is the final piece would end up with exact hole sizes and location without final machining of the casting which is required when produced as a sand casting, in most cases. The down side is the zinc alloys used to produce the part doesn't age well and will swell and crumble in time.